Posted by: emjb | January 27, 2007

Can I have a do-over day?

What a sucky day. I have pretty much worked nonstop every day for the last 2 weeks and haven’t really seen Nathan much except right before his bedtime. So today was our day, once I got up, except that he didn’t want much to do with me. Or his dad either. His teeth hurt. And then the construction crews outside made it impossible to get a nap, so I drove him around till he fell asleep, then parked the car and read in a quiet spot. But he couldn’t sleep long even then.

We got back and had a late lunch, but it was all-cranky all-day. Tylenol didn’t help. He bit me and I yelled and he cried. We went to the bookstore to get out of the house, and he was fine until I wouldn’t let him crawl into people’s paths, and he wouldn’t use his legs and walk, and threw a wall-eyed fit, and so I took him home. And he cried. And I simmered and thought horrible things but didn’t lose my temper. We got home and I put him in front of a DVD, and then he was ok, and then I put him to bed, which was the only thing that did go easy.

Neither one of us got dinner, now that I think about it. Oh well. Maybe I’ll just have a beer instead.

Leave a Reply

Categories

