Posted by: emjb | April 29, 2006

Down low

Jesus gay, we’re tired. Nathan has a sinus infection, which is being treated by antibiotics, but of course, he’s not sleeping. I think he may be teething again too.

Last night, I thought maybe there was a light at the end of the tunnel…the doc had said he might have allergies, and prescribed some loratadine (Claritin). On the bottle, it said “may cause drowsiness…administer at bedtime.” Sounds good, yes? Well, actually, in children, loratadine may cause wakefulness. Which I didn’t know until after I’d administered it to him and watched him get good and wired at 10pm. Did I mention I had to be at work at 6am and Matt had had a rough week of little sleep with Nathan? Yeah.

He did finally crash about 11, but then it was back to wake-every-two to three-hours. Matt is being gallant about it, but the circles under his eyes tell a different tale. And I’m probaby going on about 4 hours sleep and some Diet Coke.

And every day there’s a new article about how sleep deprivation makes you drive drunkenly and also takes years off your life, and maybe increases your chance of heart disease, and probably butt cancer. And that’s great to know, but what the hell can I do about it?? I guess I’m just going to have to die in a fiery car crash or from a raging case of butt cancer.

I’m at work now, waiting for some copies to finish and trying to stay awake long enough to finish my shift. But when I get home, I’ll still have a baby to watch and an exhausted husband who needs sleep even more than I do. I can’t find the exit door to this hamster wheel.

Leave a Reply

Categories

