Posted by: emjb | March 15, 2006

Four Months

Well, kiddo, you’ve made it this far. You’ve slowed down some, growth-wise, which is great, considering you’re wearing 12-month clothes. You seem to be putting your energy on other things, such as your newest trick, rolling over onto your stomach and pumping your arms and legs frantically, trying to crawl. Your head is suddenly steadier on your much-stronger neck, and you can now lie on your belly and look up at me with a drooly grin, instead of just planting your face in the rug. Or stick out your tongue at me, another new trick.

Just a few hours ago, you put your little sweaty, slobbery hand on my face and explored it with your hands for the first time. You pulled off my glasses and dug your sharp little nails into my cheeks and laughed, and it was wonderful. Painful, but wonderful. You’ve started some experimental splashing in the tub when I wash you, instead of just laying back like a little lump. You hunch forward a lot now when you’re sat down somewhere, straining to sit up. You’re a busy kid, these days. And a good looking one too, even with the little patch of bald where your hair’s rubbed off in the back.

I’ve finally started to feel like you know me as Mom, someone special, instead of just Random Person Who Cares for Me, because you don’t warm up to strangers much now. You wailed when poor Dr. Gupta tried to examine your ears, and didn’t even want much to do with your grandparents when we went to visit, at least not at first. I’m not glad you have separation anxiety, don’t get me wrong, but because of all the weirdness at your birth and after, it’s comforting to know that you need me, specifically, not just anyone who can hold a formula bottle or change your diaper.

You know who your daddy is, that’s for sure, and you kick and squeal when he comes home and plays with you. You know your Mamaw and Gramps because you see them every day and they think you hung the moon. I keep thinking I’m imposing when I ask them to watch you, and they keep grabbing you and waving me away, in time-honored grandparent fashion.

The charts all say you’ll start talking and teething and crawling soon, and it all seems impossible to me still. I shouldn’t be surprised, but I am, remembering the tiny helpless thing I brought home 4 months ago. I don’t know that I’ll ever stop being surprised by you, no matter how old you get. Something to look forward to.

Responses

  1. Gah, gimme some baby pics! Congratulations on making it this far, LOL. I love reading about what my own babe will be doing in the next few months. 🙂 Hope all is well for you! Email me someday, if you’re ever in the DFW area!

  2. heh, I do have some new pictures, or rather my mother in law does, as soon as she sends ’em I’ll post them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

