Posted by: emjb | January 15, 2006

Think I’ll keep trying, for now

Thanks to those who commented on my last post. It gave me a lot to think about. But I’ve decided not to go on antidepressants…for now.

It’s been only 8 weeks since Nathan’s birth, and I’m in the middle of changing everything else in my life, too. I don’t yet feel like my anxiety, when it shows up, is overwhelming me or is dangerous. An awful lot of it is likely to be situational (and due to not enough sunlight, definitely, in the middle of winter), and my situation is about to change, and I’m about to be somewhere with considerably more sunlight and chances to get out and about. And I have noticed improvement, even if it’s not as fast as I would like.

If, however, we get to a more settled place and the sadness and anxiety persist, no matter what else is going on, then I’ll seek that help, and stay on it as long as I need to. I won’t feel any shame about it, either. But in the meantime, I need a little more time to take some swings at coping with this myself.

Responses

  1. Sounds like a plan.


Leave a Reply

Categories

