Posted by: emjb | December 25, 2005

un-Christmased

Christmas got lost this year, except for a few cards and gifts. It came too soon after the baby and the drama and the exhaustion. I watched The Grinch and most of It’s a Wonderful Life because I was watching TV anyway. But I have hardly heard a single Christmas carol. I didn’t send a single card, not even e-cards.

Last night we went downtown so Matt and his buddy Paul could see King Kong, and so Nathan and I could hang out in Union Square for several hours. We shopped and lounged in B&N’s coffee shop till they kicked us out at 10. Then we tried to go to Starbucks, but it was playing some sort of obnoxious Brazilian holiday music that made Nathan cry. So we ended up at McDonalds, where the muzak was less intrusive. It was all just an excuse for Mommy to get out of the house. But I had forgotten how loud New York can be, since I suppose I’m used to it. I was appalled at the screeching of the trains and the high volume Elvis music at the B&N, and I felt bad for Nathan being surrounded by all that. Your perspective on what is acceptable volume changes when you have a baby to think about. By the time we got him home, I was as tired of the whole thing as he was. He’s slept a lot today after all that excitement.

But in all that pre-holiday bustle downtown, there was no particularly Christmasy feel to things for me. I don’t have the energy for it. Next year, when we have our own place and Nathan will be able to enjoy things like trees and presents, it might be different. This year, it’s just an extra day off. It makes me a little sad, because I like Christmas; I like trees with motley ornaments and colored lights, I like making cookies, I like wrapping gifts and driving around looking at lights. I like a lot of the carols, and Christmas is the only time I ever miss church, because hearing those songs sung by a choir still gives me shivers. But this year, it’s not to be.

So tomorrow we’ll roast some chickens and make a cake, and that’ll pretty much be it for 05. I hope all ya’ll have a festive holiday of your choice, and get good gifts. Eat some Christmas cookies for me. Next year, I’ll just have to make up for lost time in that department.

Responses

  1. I don’t know — this holiday has mostly been a “god, what were we thinking?” kind of time. I guess I had fantasies of the kid being distracted by Grandma and Grandpa and toys, when instead I’m distracted by keeping him from tearing down the tree, tearing up the house, and tearing the fur off the cats. My husband looked at me at one point yesterday and said, “You know that a second one is SO not happening, don’t you?”

  2. Heh. I think the problem is that Christmas ornaments look exactly like candy to a little one…my nieces always thought so. We did at least manage to take some embarrassing pics of him in an elf hat. So the holiday wasn’t a complete wash for us…


Leave a Reply

Categories

