Posted by: emjb | March 14, 2005

La la la la la! It is too a song!

Hey, I’m just a letter-writing fool this week. It’s to make up for all the times I neglected ya’ll, the readers who actually click on this instead of deleting it from your inbox. All four of you!

Anyway, I apologize for the Dark Night of My Soul tone of many of my recent letters—I could blame it on the kid, the hormones, blah de blah, but that would be a lie. If I hadn’t been a good little church kid, I would have been, if not a goth, then a Depressed Teen in Black. That’s just who I am.

But not all the time. The flip side of bleakness is constant amusement. When you see the absurdity of life, it can make you cry or make you laugh. I try to keep things weighted towards laughter whenever possible.

This is doubly important when you’re married to someone who is also still, basically, a Depressed Teen in Black. I find that part of my job in this marriage is to burst into Matt’s office, hug him, and sing him a silly song, something like this:

Oh! It is the Hub,
For whom I feel much love!
Lalalalala Hub!

Accompanied, perhaps, with dancing or hand gestures.

There are only two possible reactions to this: violent vomiting or laughter. So far, it makes him laugh. And I know I married the right person.

He reciprocates, of course, but prefers to just burst in and hug me, or perform his inexplicable pointy-finger dance (don’t ask) rather than make up horrible little songs. That’s MY special talent. I feel this will come in handy when the kid arrives, and I can sing songs about how he cries too much, smells like poo, is cute but cranky, has fat little feet, etc. Like dogs, it’s not so much what you say but how you say it, at least until they start to talk (babies, not dogs).

I think being silly when needed is a skill everyone should develop, but I think being the youngest child in your family makes it easier. Your earliest memories are of saying and doing things that inexplicably provoke laughter, turning you into a little ham, and of course, getting you more attention. All I have to do is remember back to that part of my life, and set aside any sense of dignity whatsoever, and I’m ready to go.

Leave a Reply

Categories

